Author Topic: Egyptian Composite Bow  (Read 14738 times)

Offline ecounter

Egyptian Composite Bow
« on: August 20, 2021, 01:53:51 pm »
Tried an Egyptian composite bow and wanted to share as much as I could if it helps anyone else.  Used this: <http://margo.student.utwente.nl/sagi/artikel/ancient_composites/>  as my guide.  Used Osage slats for all the wood and my handle is a little more Assyrian than the sharp Egyptian look but since that's where Egypt supposedly got the technology it feels better in the hand.  Pulls #70 at around 26 inches which is way past my comfort zone.  Will try to give all the info in the picture dumps as I'm not great at replying in the message boards but will try if I can help.  I've built a dozen or so self bows and a hybrid Mongolian style but this is my first attempt at something this complex.  The Sinew is made up of one layer of 3 gram 10 inch sinew bundles all around(little less on the sides as it tapers) with an additional layer on the back. I'll try to post start to finish over the course of next few days as I get the files to size.

Offline ecounter

Egyptian Composite Bow
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2021, 05:52:36 pm »
Osage bending and layers of horn glued on the the tapered core.

Offline ecounter

Egyptian Composite Bow
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2021, 06:04:31 pm »
shape and tiller adjustments made

Offline ecounter

Re: Egyptian Composite Bow
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2021, 06:09:32 pm »
Slight hiccup with the side pieces as I was going to do a different harder wood as described in the link above but that was a bust so bent more Osage which wasn't exact but a little more heat after the picture got them pretty close as to not create twist once everything was glued up.  Like the photo says should have bent a single wider piece of Osage and then cut into the corresponding sized strips, that is if you are going to use same wood.

Offline ecounter

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2021, 06:17:30 pm »