Author Topic: Point lethality!  (Read 2407 times)

Offline Jakesnyder

Point lethality!
« on: September 10, 2021, 01:19:40 pm »
I'm new to knapping and am wondering how I know if my points are good enough to hunt with? Thanks

Offline Hawkdancer

Re: Point lethality!
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2021, 02:11:45 pm »
Safe way is to try to slice paper - not safe way is to slice your finger >:D (lol) (lol) :fp!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2021, 02:48:37 pm »
I think paper wouldn’t work well with serrations… but i don’t know lol! I’d say if you can push the arrowhead through a piece of leather with ease, it’s sharp enough. Also look into your state laws! Some places don’t want you hunting Deer with small points
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Allyn T

• I'm addicted to information
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2021, 11:02:35 pm »
I like the idea of pushing them through leather, I also think you could use one and try to slice up some raw meat see how it goes
In the woods I find my peace

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2021, 12:35:36 pm »
I think a green hide would be a better test than a piece of leather.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2021, 02:07:10 am »
Take whatever you're hunting with a firearm first. Then shoot the carcass with one of your arrows at a reasonable range. If the arrow passes through the vital organs, it's good enough.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.