Author Topic: Longbow limb twist  (Read 1574 times)

Offline Iskelton

Longbow limb twist
« on: September 19, 2021, 01:40:07 pm »
Hi all, I’m new to bow making and to this site and I have a very (basic?) question about limb twist, why is it bad? Can it cause damage to the bow it’s self and cause it to fail or is it more of a performance driven issue? I know if limb twist is bad enough it can cause the string to slip off of the nocks but that’s about all I know. Also how much limb twist can one get away with? Thanks a bunch!

Offline Woody roberts

Re: Longbow limb twist
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2021, 02:40:08 pm »
I’m looking forward to what the pros have to say. Most of my bows have a little twist somewhere. If they shoot ok l generally don’t mess with it.
Same with warps or bends. I draw a line up the center of the tree and layout off of that. If the string favors one side of the handle that’s the side I shoot off of.
I don’t know if what I do is correct but it works for me.

Offline simson

• stonehill-primitive-bows
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2021, 01:21:54 pm »
A little twist (<30°) isn't a problem,  or maybe an aestethetic.
More should be heated out, see my buildalong if you aren't sure.

Your stick: What wood? How much twist? What design?
Simon
Bavaria, Germany

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2021, 05:48:17 pm »
Also depends whether the twist is in the stave or happens as you draw the bow. Like Simon said a little twist is OK with a selfbow. All wood laminated bows might be different, more like glass bows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline GlisGlis

« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2021, 05:25:09 am »
I also guess that a twist is much more a problem in a flatbow (wide and thin) than in a rounder shape (oval) as you will have to cut more into fibers where twist occur while tillering.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows