Author Topic: My second first wooden bow questions (TBB build-along)  (Read 1210 times)

Offline Tillerer

• Beginning bowyer
My second first wooden bow questions (TBB build-along)
« on: October 05, 2021, 12:50:03 pm »
Hello everyone,

Beginning archer/bowyer here. I've tillered one bow last month. It exploded when I tried pulling to full draw weight. I could blame the very dry crappy white pine board that I used but it was my first bow so I wasn't too surprised.

Started my second bow following the article in TBB. Got a beech board at a local wood seller. I have many questions, more every day in fact, but one of them is currently blocking my progress. The grain in the board seems remarkably straight but the board itself is bent. I only noticed once I got back home with it. Started roughing out the bow and being a noob I used the existing bend to turn it into a bow shape. Meaning the right side in the picture is the back of the bow. Then afterwards I read in TBB that you're supposed to be doing the exact opposite. Now that I know that it seems logical. But it is too late. I have a couple of options that I can see. Can you help me pick the best one or add more?
  • Trash it and start over with a new board
  • Just finish it as it is, accept the consequences (massive set? more explosions?) and then move on with a new board
  • Straighten with (dry) heat
  • Introduce reflex/recurve
I wasn't going to reflex/recurve this bow as it's not like that in TBB and I wanted to get a straight bow under my belt first. But I feel like it could work on this board.

Some details:
  • approx. 70'' n2n
  • tips deviate from straight approx. 1.18''
  • aiming for a 40#@28'' bow

As a bonus: anyone have any experience with beech? It feels fine to me (better than the pine I had) but what do I know?

Thank you!
« Last Edit: October 05, 2021, 01:22:08 pm by Tillerer »

Offline Eric Garza

Re: My second first wooden bow questions (TBB build-along)