Author Topic: Pit bulls, yikes!  (Read 3248 times)

Offline Eric Krewson

Pit bulls, yikes!
« on: November 24, 2021, 12:10:52 am »
I have a new piece of property to hunt, the owner told me it was covered up with deer, yesterday evening I let a spike walk, it was looking good at that point, I am flintlock rifle hunting.

I am still learning the small patch of woods that may be 20 acres, yesterday I was on the front edge of the property, today I ventured about 300 yards deeper in and down against the rear property line and fence just to check on deer movement.

About 4:00 I thought I thought I heard chasing and got ready, it turned out to be 5 pitbulls cold trailing a deer and they were coming right at me. When they saw me they got aggressive and quickly surrounded me barking and jumping at me, I had my back to a huge tree but but it seemed like they were bluffing.

There I was with 1 shot and 5 targets if it came to that. I have trained a lot of dogs and decided my only option was to talk my way out of this situation. I spoke to them in a soft tone, and told them they were "good dogs" and I was their "buddy". It took a few minutes but I could see a couple of them calming down. A younger, smaller dog eased up to smell me, I let it smell my hand and was able to pet it on the head, most the other dogs stopped barking and eased forward cautiously as well, soon I had 4 out of the 5 waiting their turn to be petted. One never dropped her agressive stance.

After about 10 minutes of calming them down the aggressive dog led the rest back on the deer's track and over the ridge they went.

About 30 minutes later a 6 or 8 point came by at a fast trot, a few minutes later here came two of the pitbulls hot on his heals, over the far ridge they went.

It looks like these dogs from a nearby house rule the roost on this land. When a dog decides his job is to run deer he seldom misses a days work and often makes land un-huntable.