Author Topic: What else would you suggest?  (Read 4820 times)

Offline TRACY

What else would you suggest?
« on: May 14, 2008, 09:55:49 am »
I'm new to flint knapping and have assembled some tools through advice here and books. I'm a visual type learner and have probably taken more time to understand a particular method or term than the average Joe. I thought I would post a pic of what I currently have/use to make rubble. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Tracy

[attachment deleted by admin]
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: What else would you suggest?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 10:16:57 am »
Looks like a good kit-you're off to a good start. You might want to make an Ishi stick at some point. How hard are those hammerstones? You usually want them to be as soft and gritty as possible and still hold together. Got an abrader?
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 10:47:38 am »
Like Hillbilly - that looks like a good kit. ishi stick and hand pad with a slot cut into it to channel the flakes through, or a leather hand pad works just as well. Depends on what your used to. Nice point ya got there :).
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 11:21:34 am »
More time and more rock!!! ;D     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline TRACY

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2008, 11:53:31 am »
Thanks for the input.

Hillbilly- I would say they are not soft and gritty like you suggest and the abrader is yet another piece of the puzzle to figuring this out for me. Thanks