Author Topic: New Poplar arrows ( glue set up problems)  (Read 2988 times)

Offline Nasr

New Poplar arrows ( glue set up problems)
« on: January 07, 2022, 04:28:53 pm »
Made some new poplar arrow with purple and black fletching. Not very primitive but pleased with them. I am new to arrow making and have some experience but not much. I was hoping for some advice on glue as the bohning fletch tite i am using seems to not set up quick enough. It says clamp time is 5 minutes but it will not set at that time and i end up getting some slipping like in the picture below. so I just end up leaving them clamped for 30 minutes instead. 

Offline WhistlingBadger

• Future Expert
Re: New Poplar arrows ( glue set up problems)
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2022, 06:21:01 pm »
I don't know much about fletchtite, as I usually use fletch tape and reinforce the front and back with superglue, so take this for what it's worth.  Usually when I have a glue taking way longer to set up then it should, it's because I'm using too much glue.
Thomas
Lander, Wyoming
"The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.
Travel too fast, and you miss all you are traveling for."
~Louis L'Amour

Offline Nasr

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2022, 07:00:15 pm »
I don't know much about fletchtite, as I usually use fletch tape and reinforce the front and back with superglue, so take this for what it's worth.  Usually when I have a glue taking way longer to set up then it should, it's because I'm using too much glue.

thanks ill try to lower the amount of glue i am using. What brand fletch tape are you using? I want to give it a try.

Offline Lehtis

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2022, 01:35:08 am »