Author Topic: question about roughing out bow profiles and following the grain  (Read 1238 times)

Offline rcoen2

So,

I'm still pretty new to bow making and I have a question about following the grain and profiling bows out of staves.  As you can see in these photos here, I've done my best to find straight wood, but pretty much all of my staves that I've roughed out have a S curve to them, or sometimes a C curve.  Not in the sense of a character/snakey grain, but just in a slightly off kilter waviness.  This I feel looks kind of weird, usually, throws off the string alignment, requires heat bending, and makes tillering harder (for me). 

My question is, do people sometimes fudge the grain line in staves like this and just profile out straight bows, ignoring the slightly waviness to the grain line? It seems like it would be so much more ideal to just make the bow profile/staves straight in that way for aesthetics, less work, and easier tillering.  But my concern is that this would somehow compromise the bow in someway or have a negative side effect.

Advice and thoughts??

IMG_4384 by Ryder Coen, on Flickr

IMG_4385 by Ryder Coen, on Flickr

IMG_4387 by Ryder Coen, on Flickr

IMG_4386 by Ryder Coen, on Flickr

IMG_4388 by Ryder Coen, on Flickr

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: question about roughing out bow profiles and following the grain
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2022, 07:53:17 pm »
I don't know but you should follow the grain. :) Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Hamish

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2022, 08:36:27 pm »
Learn via following the grain. Its not too hard to adjust with heat, if necessary. Get the bow to floor tillered state before heat correcting. The limbs will be thinner and easier to bend.

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2022, 08:35:00 am »
Follow the grain, it avoids grain run-out

Offline Don W

• diy.timetestedtools.net/