Author Topic: Tuning trouble  (Read 1612 times)

Offline afurman25

Tuning trouble
« on: July 22, 2022, 02:53:48 am »
Hello all,

I've been reading ton of great info from a lot of you guys for the last few months. This is my first post.  I have completed my first real shootable bow. I'm having some trouble tuning arrows to it. I’m new to bow building as well as archery. I'm a lefty.  When I attempt to bare shaft tune arrows, they are consistently landing turned to the left ( end of arrow kicked to the right). My bow is a very basic ELB but does have a small shelf I added. I attempted to research this and I found my arrows are acting as if my spines are not stiff enough. However, even with a 75 grain field tip it still kicks the arrow. Are there factors I’m not taking into consideration? I read about decreasing brace height, but I’m only at 6.75”
Forgive me if I’ve posted this incorrectly. This is my very first post of these forums.

Bow is 69” nock to nock
Brace height 6.75”
Draw weight @30” is 42#

Arrow info:

340 spine
50gr HIT insert
75gr field tip

Offline bambule

Re: Tuning trouble
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2022, 03:03:25 am »
Hey,

That is difficult… 340 is very hard for a 42# Bow even with a 30“ drawlenght.
Which kind of fletching do you use?
More feather is sometimes a good way for a better flight of the arrow…
Often the solution is the release - don‘t tune your equipment tune your technique :-).

Just my 2 cents

Greetz
Cord
Niedersachsen, Germany

Offline afurman25

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2022, 03:21:37 am »
I’m attempting to bareshaft tune. No fletching on the shaft. Technique definitely plays a factor. If that’s the case I’m being very consistent with my errors. Once I was getting consistent shot groups I figured it may be a tuning issue.

bownarra

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2022, 03:39:20 am »
Your arrows are way, way too stiff.
I'd try 500 spine left full length or 600 cut to just over 30". 125 grain points.