Author Topic: advice on wood (black walnut)  (Read 1058 times)

Offline simk

advice on wood (black walnut)
« on: November 25, 2022, 02:11:06 am »
Hi all!

I have the opportunity to get a nice board of black walnut. I have no experience with this wood and its not really cheap, so I'm hesitating a little.

How reliable would you rate this wood as a bellywood in laminated bows? A, B, or C? It sure looks nice but how good is it in compression?

Thanks for advice!

Cheers
« Last Edit: November 25, 2022, 02:44:58 am by simk »
--- the queen rules ----

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
Re: advice on wood (black walnut)
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2022, 03:52:02 am »
As a core wood in my experience.For me around here it's not the best bow wood I've got on it's own but will work.All depends on how far a person wants to stress it.Beautiful looking bow wood when done.
It makes some good arrow shafts too.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2022, 04:08:05 am by BowEd »
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline simk

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2022, 07:17:33 am »
Thanks Ed, I maybe better lookout for other wood. There must be a reason why we dont often see bows made from black walnut.
Low set, good cast and no chrysals is what I'm looking for.
👍
--- the queen rules ----

Offline bassman211

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2022, 12:20:10 pm »