Author Topic: Norm Blaker  (Read 1337 times)

Offline Stixnstones

Norm Blaker
« on: February 28, 2023, 11:00:26 am »
Last night one of the last guards passed on to the happy hunting grounds. I’m really having a tough time finding the words to express what he meant to me and so many others. Thank you for everything my good friend…
DevilsBeachSelfbows

Offline MWirwicki

• The wood speaks to you; Listen with your eyes. GSD
Re: Norm Blaker
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2023, 11:39:18 am »
Stix,
I logged on to post the same.  Davey, texted me early this morning with the sad news.  I along with many looked up to Norm.   

Norm, was one of the most talented men I know.  He had a knack for making something out of absolutely nothing.  In making something "new" appear to be years old.  He was a genuine master, self taught in many of his exploits from trapping, primitive bow making and flint knapping to building flintlock rifles.  I was happy to visit him a couple of weekends ago.  I knew in some way that his days were numbered.  Though it wasn't verbal, I had my chance to say, "Good bye, Ol' friend."

My sincere condolences and wishes to his wife, Jean who laid beside him while he peacefully passed.  She never left Norm's side... ever.
Matt Wirwicki
Owosso, MI

Online bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2023, 12:01:05 pm »
Very saddened to hear this.
Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2023, 12:08:51 pm »
I never met Norm but he was surely one of the pioneers of our obsession. I remember seeing a pic of Norm with a sinew backed working recurve in one of my archery books that made an impression on me to help me get interested in building wood bows.
RIP Norm. Maybe I
Maybe I'll finally meet you on the other side.  :OK
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator