Author Topic: Wanting to get in BP rifles  (Read 9817 times)

Offline Fox

Wanting to get in BP rifles
« on: October 30, 2023, 03:58:49 pm »
Hey ya'll im interested in buying a muzzleloader, I want to build one at some point but don't have the time now and would like to try to hunt with a muzzleloader some this season. Ive been looking at the traditions Springfield Hawken cause its quite inexpensive and looks pretty nice. Im guessing I should go with percussion to simplify things for now. The issue is there all out of stock! anyone have any other rifles they might recommend? Thanks!
Why must we make simple things so complicated?

Offline Buckskinner

Re: Wanting to get in BP rifles
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2023, 01:56:52 pm »
While there are a few on here that can help you out, there is much better information on BP guns at www.muzzleloadingforum.com.

They also have a classified section where I bet you could find something that would suit you.  I'm a novice, but I've built 3 flintlocks and they were great fun and huge learning experience that I was glad to accomplish.

I can give you 2 tips... Beware of the huge rabbit hole you are about to fall into and you get what you pay for.

Offline Fox

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2023, 03:29:37 pm »
Thanks buckskinner!

Offline Piddler

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2023, 07:54:05 pm »
Give Pedersoli a look over. No complaints with mine.
Piddler
"My goal in life is to try and be the kind of person my dog thinks I am"

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2023, 10:32:50 am »