Main Discussion Area > Muzzleloaders

Wanting to get in BP rifles

(1/3) > >>

Fox:
Hey ya'll im interested in buying a muzzleloader, I want to build one at some point but don't have the time now and would like to try to hunt with a muzzleloader some this season. Ive been looking at the traditions Springfield Hawken cause its quite inexpensive and looks pretty nice. Im guessing I should go with percussion to simplify things for now. The issue is there all out of stock! anyone have any other rifles they might recommend? Thanks!

Buckskinner:
While there are a few on here that can help you out, there is much better information on BP guns at www.muzzleloadingforum.com.

They also have a classified section where I bet you could find something that would suit you.  I'm a novice, but I've built 3 flintlocks and they were great fun and huge learning experience that I was glad to accomplish.

I can give you 2 tips... Beware of the huge rabbit hole you are about to fall into and you get what you pay for.

Fox:
Thanks buckskinner!

Piddler:
Give Pedersoli a look over. No complaints with mine.
Piddler

Eric Krewson:
Decisions, decisions; first decide what you are planning, mostly hunting and what, target shooting and hunting, percussion or flint. I recommend a percussion gun starting out. I think your choice for a Traditions Hawken is a good one but only in percussion, the lower priced locks in flint are just OK, nothing special. Traditions barrels are good, as well as accurate. Then there is the choice of shooting bullets or patched round balls, the rifling rate of twist will be different for rifles made for one or the other.