Author Topic: Harbor freight bandsaw  (Read 4685 times)

Offline hammerstone

Harbor freight bandsaw
« on: November 17, 2023, 11:25:35 am »
Anyone tried or using the Central Machinery 14" bandsaw from Harbor freight?
My old craftsman was worn out and finding parts got next to impossible.

Offline Selfbowman

Re: Harbor freight bandsaw
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2023, 11:29:33 am »
Don’t know but Grizzly makes a good one. You will have some assembly required on all of them. You can get used ones also pretty reasonable if you have a little time.
Well I'll say!!  Osage is king!!

Offline superdav95

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2023, 11:37:07 am »
I bought an old delta 14” bandsaw from a high school years ago for 300$.  I just upgraded to the roller bearing blade guides as it came with bearing blocks which were not great.  It transformed my saw!  I also got a magnetic fence too.  I have no experience with the harbour freight one though. 
Sticks and stones and other poky stabby things.

superdav95@gmail.com

Offline organic_archer

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2023, 12:26:04 pm »
I’ve tried a number of band saws and nothing has compared to a 1990 Delta 14” I got second hand. It needed new tires, new blade, new blocks and some rust removal. I believe it’s the best-selling bandsaw in history so they’re easy to find, and parts are plentiful and cheap. Total investment was around $250. It outperforms the $1700 Rikon 14” it replaced in every way. Sold the Rikon almost immediately. My experience with bandsaws leads me to believe you shouldn’t touch the harbor freight one with an 10 foot pole.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2023, 12:32:42 pm by organic_archer »
Owner
Organic Archery
Hand-Crafted Longbows & Wooden Arrows

Offline superdav95

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2023, 03:37:52 pm »