Author Topic: Sinew backed Osage Board Bow?  (Read 663 times)

Offline spitdrum

Sinew backed Osage Board Bow?
« on: January 06, 2024, 11:24:01 pm »
Hey ya'll, new user here. Please excuse my ignorance, I'm still a novice.

I have some very clean Osage boards (I've been experimenting with bamboo backed bows), And curiosity got the best of me... Has anyone messed with attempting to sinew back an Osage Board Bow? Instead of a backing strip or bamboo?

The boards are straight grained, no run-off, and knot free. I have done sinew backed stave bows, and have been itching to do a new sinew backed build. I figured Id ask, before attempting it. I have not been able to really find anything on the subject. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! - Spitdrum

Offline Bob Barnes

Re: Sinew backed Osage Board Bow?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2024, 11:44:38 pm »
I've never done it, but I have seen several bows made that way...they all worked.   :OK
Seems like common sense isn't very common any more...

Offline bassman211

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2024, 01:23:17 am »
I have sinew backed splits from Osage were the rings were to thin to chase for me any how , so I just backed them with sinew. Mine were not clean either, and I only used 1 heavy layer of sinew.  Though I never did it with boards I would think it would be similar. No problems with the one's I built, an some are really good shooters.

Offline willie

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2024, 03:13:51 am »

The boards are straight grained, no run-off, and knot free.

Thanks! - Spitdrum

is the board grain pattern plain sawn or quarter sawn? https://i.pinimg.com/originals/7e/10/a6/7e10a68b6252954e5c882720a379ee11.png
how thick do you propose for the sinew?

just a thin layer of sinew over "flames" of plain sawn may not be the best, especially if the flames are in the working limb or the early wood is thickish

« Last Edit: January 07, 2024, 03:16:59 am by willie »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator