Author Topic: Symmetrical vs. Asymmetrical Tiller - Geometry Heavy  (Read 906 times)

Offline Alex C

Symmetrical vs. Asymmetrical Tiller - Geometry Heavy
« on: January 29, 2024, 04:09:08 pm »
Preface: I'm not an engineer or mathematician, but work in a math-heavy field.  So, please point out any errors in my though process here if you find any!  If I'm wrong here, your input will help make me a better bowyer, if I'm correct in my reasoning, this may help myself and others.

So I've been doing a lot of reading, thinking, and math (read geometry) on the commonly discussed issue of symmetric/asymmetric/positive/negative/equal tiller.  It seems to come up relatively often, and bowyers tend to fall in one camp or the other, but I haven't really seen any data-driven explanations.  The following things I've read often or seem like common conclusions:
  • Some people don't really worry about tiller symmetry, just about how the bow balances and shoots.
  • Nobody really goes for a negative tiller.
  • Some folks prefer a slightly shorter bottom limb rather than an a positive tiller.
  • Some people always go for a slight positive tiller because the bottom limb is working harder

The last point is the one I've been most curious about, since I've read that countless times without an explanation of WHY and HOW MUCH the bottom limb is working harder/more stressed.  So I finally think I've come up with a mathematical explanation as to why the bottom limb is working harder, and why I'll probably strive for a slightly positive tiller for all my future builds.

The reasoning came after reading Dr. D. N. Hickman's "General Formulas for Static Strains and Stresses in Drawing a Bow" from the 1930 November issue of 'Ye Sylvan Archer'.  I've drawn up my own diagrams for symmetric and asymmetric tillers to actually visualize the differences myself, but I'll stick to posting Dr. Hickman's diagrams here unless someone wants to see my own.