Author Topic: Drying Cane Question  (Read 4145 times)

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
Drying Cane Question
« on: June 04, 2008, 08:48:33 am »
Hi yall,

I cut a good bunch of cane a couple weeks ago, and I've had it bundled straight and placed in the cab of my old truck with the windows up. It has really dried quick, and most of it has turned tan color. I'm guessing it is probably dry enough, but I don't know for sure. I haven't cut any of it to length yet for arrows.

I'm new to making cane arrows, so any help or suggestions on drying or any other aspect of making cane arrows would be appreciated! Not sure how I should seal them either...

Thanks!
Greg
Greg

A rich person can be poor monetarily, the best things in life are free...

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: Drying Cane Question
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 08:57:55 am »
It's probably getting about right. Heat-straighten a couple of them. Then see if you can bend it back crooked without heat-if you can bend it by hand and it stays bent, it's not dry enough yet. If you don't scrape into the rind, you don't really need much of a sealer on cane, because that shiny rind is water-resisitant. I usually sand mine down a bit to rough the surface up for dying and fletching, though, so I  slap a couple-three coats of Tru-oil on them.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2008, 09:11:59 am »
Thanks Hillbilly, I'll give that a try. I guess I should take them out of the cab before long...might get them too dry? Would it be okay to store them in my basement...a little damp down there?

What do you use to heat the cane, the candles are blackening them. Don't really mind, pretty good camo. :)
Greg

Offline Otoe Bow

• Mike Chase, Afghanistan
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2008, 09:57:59 am »