Author Topic: Rivercane prototype  (Read 6594 times)

Offline TRACY

Rivercane prototype
« on: July 19, 2008, 10:31:51 am »
I'm new with working cane and have just been building a few arrows to try different methods etc.. I just can't get over how well these things shoot! I plan on hunting with them this deer season and have been trying to find the right mix. I whittled a piece of scrap osage to make a plug/field point and fletched turkey feathers with deer sinew. Suggestions and criticism welcome.

Thanks Tracy

[attachment deleted by admin]
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline cheapshot

Re: Rivercane prototype
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2008, 10:45:51 am »
Good looking arrow. I like the osage field point. You might want to do a sinew or thread wrap at the base of the shaft next to the field point, to help keep the shaft from splitting if you hit something hard.

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2008, 10:58:17 am »
Good Job!! Like already stated....wrap the Shaft at the Point end also....and you may want to try and spiral the wrapping through the Feathers next time...it makes them lay better to the Shaft....how does it fly?? Is that tip heavy enough to keep it on track?? I tried one out of Walnut before...and it seemed too light and it would hit sporadically....switched to a Steel Field Point and it was awesomely accurate
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY
2024...We Will Overcome

Offline DanaM

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2008, 11:54:12 am »
Not that it matters a great deal but with the height of yer fletch and the gap between the fletch and shaft
I'm wondering is it noisy in flight? Nice arra :)