Author Topic: ??? about sinew  (Read 18890 times)

Offline Boro

??? about sinew
« on: July 24, 2008, 04:58:02 am »
Ok. I am about to get some fresh cow legs tendons. I will need to dry them and I have never done it before. My question is about temperature, light, time involved, odours possibly and stuff I can't think of now.
I will appriciate any information on how to dry and prepare them properly.
Thank You

Boro
Zagreb, Croatia

Offline DanaM

Re: ??? about sinew
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2008, 09:19:12 am »
Never done cow sinew, I would clean all meat and fat off them put them somewhere dry and where animals can't reach them.
You will know when they are dry as they will be stiff, then you can just store them in a zip lock. I've also used a electric dehydrator.
The wife don't know about it though :)
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 09:57:55 am »
I have heard mixed reviews about cow leg sinews. The negatives are they are hard to separate and they are quite greasy. I have never used them. You might experiment with drying like Dana said and also try stripping the fibers while they are fresh before drying.
   You will have to remove the sheath that covers the tendon before you can strip out the individual fibers(tendons).  Keep us posted.      Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Papa Matt

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2008, 10:03:27 am »
I'm sure cow legs are the same as deer, and I've done a lot of deer. I'd keep them out of direct sunlight, and away from direct heat when they start to turn hard, which is a matter of about 12-24 hours depending on size, air flow, etc.