Author Topic: Moose Hunting Questions  (Read 4393 times)

Kewrin

Moose Hunting Questions
« on: July 24, 2008, 11:49:30 pm »
Okay! I have an itch to go Moose hunting.  I think it is in the middle of my back!

Do any of you have any information about this.  I am just starting to do research and would appreciate any help.
I would like to stay in the states but...
I would like to do it inexpensive (but not be cheap).
Guided or Not.  Prefer Not Guided.  But am not against guides.

TIA

Kerwin

Offline The Singing Bowyer

Re: Moose Hunting Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 11:01:43 am »
Pretty much anywhere in the states, you will have to put in for a draw. I have been putting in for Maine for the last 6 years...nothing yet! Unfortunately, most of the draws are either over or nearly over for this year to even be able to put in...

As long as it may take to get drawn, it may be better to start a Moose Fund now, and in 5 to 10, just pay for tag up in the big north. Even then, there are draws, but you have a better chance...especially if you can work through an outfitter.
Chad K. Slagle
"The Singing Bowyer"
www.TheSingingBowyer.com

Offline PaulLovesJamie

• Kutztown Car Wash
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2008, 11:50:05 am »
agreed - most of US is a draw.  Unfortunately, all of Canada requires a guide for US citizens.   :(

FYI, a couple years ago I calculated the "cost" of drawing a moose tag in Maine. This year it was $55 for 10 chances for a non-resident. Published odds of a non-resident getting a permit: 1 in 700.  So just using some simple math, statistically each permit costs $5 * 700, which is $3500.  If you're lucky you draw in a year or two.  If you're me, you never draw.   :(