Author Topic: Goat products  (Read 5001 times)

Huaco

Goat products
« on: August 01, 2008, 11:33:38 am »
I am looking into buying and slaughtering Boer goats for my "off season" table fare when out of venison.  By purchasing a live goat, I will, of course, have all the tendons and other things... Would goat sinew be worth a darn for primitive archery uses?  I am new to prim. arch. and to goats too!  I would love to be able to use the most out of a goat as I can.  Maybe horn nocks?

Papa Matt

Re: Goat products
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2008, 11:57:21 am »
If you really think about it, a whitetail is nothing more than a glorified woodland goat. Sometimes they even smell the same. I've never used them, but I have read that goat tendons work and I'm sure they would too.

~~Papa Matt

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2008, 12:08:38 pm »
Goat raw hide makes excellent bow backing!   Their sinews ought to work OK but they are probably a bit smaller. The horns, if any, will make good tip overlays.     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2008, 12:16:55 pm »
Ive often wondered how a goat would taste? Similar to deer you think? Let us know...maybe I'll be goat shopping.....
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Papa Matt

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2008, 12:23:30 pm »
I have eaten goat, and it is similar to deer but a bit stronger, depending on the sex and age of the goat. A young female would taste way better than an adult musky male. Young goat is not bad, if you like deer. Some people just don't have a taste for deer or goat, either one.

~~Matt

Huaco

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2008, 12:24:08 pm »
Ive often wondered how a goat would taste? Similar to deer you think? Let us know...maybe I'll be goat shopping.....