Author Topic: Want to make an arrow head??  (Read 6444 times)

expect212

Want to make an arrow head??
« on: August 24, 2008, 12:44:38 am »
I've been shooting for 5 years now and just recently decided to make my own arrows and have been looking through this site and i have to say you guys know how to make bows and arrows and make them look great... But i was just wondering if anyone can help me out with making arrowheads what is the best kind of home made arrowhead to make for target and hunting? (I just got  45lb recurve bow and want to make traditional arrows to go with it)

I tried forging them but they did not come out so good (don't have the tools :/ )is there any easy effective way of making a point that looks and works great..
Any Help would be greatly Appreciated.
-Nick

Online mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: Want to make an arrow head??
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2008, 12:54:06 am »
 Nick, One of the easiest and simple way is to cut them out with a chisel. I learned this from the Foxfire books. My god friend , Tom Carelton wrote the article when he was in High school. Just get a saw blade, draw out what size and shape point you want . Then take a chisel, hammer and good solid backstop. Follow the line , cut it with the chisel and then clean it up with a file. That way you don't get it hot and have to worry about retempering.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2008, 12:58:14 am »
Nick, If you can find some metal banding material, the kind used to band bundles of lumber, etc you can cut it to shape with tin snips. Also, old saw blades make great trade points. Cut then out with a cold chisel and anvil then shape it and sharpen it with a file.  For practice points .38 pistol cartridge casings make good ones.      Pat.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator