Author Topic: hickory long bow  (Read 4082 times)

Offline backwoods

hickory long bow
« on: September 23, 2008, 10:36:39 pm »
hey guys i am new at this so any help would be great. i switched over to traditional archery 2 years ago and love it. i got the surge to build my own bow i went to the lumber yard and got a kild dried hickory board riped it to 1.5 inchs it is 62 inchs long . i forgot to say it is a planesawed board. will i need to back it with rawhide or something else or not at all.

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
Re: hickory long bow
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 11:36:03 pm »
If you are new to bow building, don't back the bow.  Make it a full 62" long and don't make it too powerful.  Hickory boards work well for bows whether plain sawn or quatersawn.  If the grain runs from one end of the bow to the other, then you're in business.  A few dips and wiggles in the grain won't hurt....hickory is pretty tough.

There is a lot of good info in this forum.  Read up on as much as you can before you start. ;D
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.
How to Cook It?  200° for 24hrs then 275° to 500° for 4hrs (depending on type), Cool for 12hr

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2008, 12:58:44 am »
I think beginners should back their first efforts for piece of mind and safety. On boards, linen, silk and burlap give added protection. Hickory is a good board bow wood. My site has stuff. Jawge
http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/

Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline backwoods

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2008, 07:24:35 pm »
thanks for the help . i am going to start laying out the bow this week an hopefuly start cuting.

Arthur Herrmann