Author Topic: bows in iraq? why not!  (Read 7646 times)

Offline armymedic.2

bows in iraq? why not!
« on: October 11, 2008, 10:14:29 am »
hello friends, good to see all of you again.  just thought i would stop in to announce a new project.  As some of you know i was deployed to iraq, and am currently in baghdad.  what i didn't know is there is some down time, and when i found out i had two pieces of wood shipped out to me right away.  Im a medic, and my PA who is a colonel, both love archery.  he is a wheelie shooter now, but comming around quick.  we made our first shavings today on some ipe backed with bamboo.  Im very excited about this project, because it will be my 4th and his first, and i can't believe we are going to be able to try and complete bows.  i will do my best to make pics of the process and the scenery we are working in.  both are about 72 inches long, and will be english d bows, which i have never done before.  im sure i will be asking for your expertise.  time is limited obviously, but i figure we can get em done before we have to move somewhere else.  anyway, hope it keeps ya interested, and i know there are plenty of vets on here that are probably laughing at the idea of making a bow in iraq.  gotta stay distracted somehow! will be sure to keep you posted on this thread of our progress.  felt really good to make some shavings again!
Some say freedom is free, well i have to disagree-
some say freedom is won, by the barrel of a gun.

Offline YewArcher

Re: bows in iraq? why not!
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2008, 10:31:08 am »
Have you ever heard of Camp Cuvero? John (Chessbum) and some other Michigan Long Bow association guys send bows, arrows, staves, tools etc....over to Iraq on a regualr basis.

Here is a link. You may know some of these guys,

http://www.michiganlongbow.org/new_page_3.htm

Steve

Offline Sparrow

• Who shot cock robin ? I said the sparrow.
    • Dream Fish Charters
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2008, 12:16:39 pm »