Author Topic: how long of a draw length can I get away with?  (Read 8812 times)

Offline brownhillboy

how long of a draw length can I get away with?
« on: October 21, 2008, 11:02:46 pm »
I have a small hickory stave that I decided to try and make something out of.  It's only 52" long and 1.5" wide.  I'm planning on making it a bend through the handle.  I've already started it as basically a pyramid design with a 4" handle, 2" fades, 1.5" wide tapering to 3/4" tips.  I'm thinking about recurving the limbs also.  My question to some of you more experienced bowyers is how long of a draw length do you think I can get away with?  Thanks in advance for your help!
south central VA

Offline Keenan

Re: how long of a draw length can I get away with?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 11:33:22 pm »
 Much will depend on the quality of the wood of coarse. Are you going to back it? I'm not experienced with hickory so some of them southern boys will have to chime in here.
  It's a fair challenge to get 28" draw from a 58" bow, but is certainly possible with several different woods. I've made a fair amount of shorties and I think you can hit 26" if you are carefull on the tiller, if the wood is good and get the whole bow working. Definitely flip the tips to help with string angle.

Offline D. Tiller

• Go ahead! Bend that stick! Make my day!!!
    • Whidbey Island Soap Co.
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 11:41:01 pm »