Author Topic: Bent ACE broad head  (Read 8251 times)

Offline Don

Bent ACE broad head
« on: October 29, 2008, 10:22:33 pm »
Let me start by saying I've bow hunted for many years and taken several deer. So I'm not totally green.
BUT this is my first year with primitive gear.
Had a fairly decent buck come into stand tonight,[about 14yrds] gave me a great side shot.
Well I hit him a little high behind the shoulder and noticed I didn't get good penetration.
As he ran off aways the arrow fell out. I watched him for some time and could see where I hit him [high but it looked like it should have still been good].
He proceded to stomp and then walked off.
I gave him some time then got down, found the arrow and low and behold the arrow penetrated about an 1" past the head and the tip of the head was bent over.
I'm using a 50# Osage bow with cedar shafts and 160gr. ACE heads. The arrow flight is good.
Has anyone else had that trouble with the tips of the ACE heads?
I've already taken the point off the tips and resharped.
Oh Ya the deer will live to see another day. Although I hate when something like that happens. It makes you question ones self.
Don

Offline Sparrow

• Who shot cock robin ? I said the sparrow.
    • Dream Fish Charters
Re: Bent ACE broad head
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 12:58:04 am »
 Sounds like you hit solid bone at a pretty good angle.I had some ace broads and switched to zwicky's after a buddy gave me a bunch as a gift.I never bent either except when I shot them into rocks.  Frank
Frank (The Sparrow) Pataha, Washington

Offline Little John

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 03:11:04 am »
Makes ya wonder, hu. Sounds like they might not have gotten the temper right.  Better luck next time.    Kenneth
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2008, 06:52:43 am »