Author Topic: Maybe some words of Wisdom??  (Read 3506 times)

Offline Hoodoo

Maybe some words of Wisdom??
« on: April 01, 2009, 08:10:59 pm »
After the first failed attempt i studied the board stave closely and decided it would be in my best intrest to use the splicing method. The board is wide enough to get 3 seperate satves. but only one half of the board has good grain so i am planning on taking two half staves and splicing them together. any words of wisdom before i begin? :)

Offline ravenbeak

• Pacific Yew Wood
    • Ravenbeak Natureworks
Re: Maybe some words of Wisdom??
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 08:21:14 pm »
be brave
Custom Yew Bows,  and bow making workshops
www.ravenbeak.com

whitewoodshunter

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 08:58:43 pm »
If its your second attempt at making a bow I would set the board aside and get a good piece of red oak with good grain and make a long bow. 1.75 inches wide fading to 1/2 tips. 72 inches long. After a couple of these you could move back to the other board.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 09:13:50 pm »
I wouldn't recommend that you try cedar until you have a few bows under your belt. Whitewoodshunter has some good advice. Another thing-slow down, take your time and watch how what you do affects what the bow does.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

whitewoodshunter

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2009, 09:27:32 pm »
Eastern Red cedar: is a goo bow wood, but kinda finicky to work, a flaw in the tiller and the bow is gonna blow. Wester Red cedar: is basically useless as a bow wood.

whitewoodshunter

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 09:28:52 pm »
Lowes or Home Depots hould have Red oak, and relatively cheap too

Shooter_G22

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2009, 10:37:00 pm »
montana,

i would highly recomend you start with something that is very forgiving and easy to work with...