Author Topic: Opinions wanted on Stave...  (Read 6911 times)

Tombow

Opinions wanted on Stave...
« on: June 08, 2009, 09:19:15 am »
Elm (Texas) stave with a lot of reflex, very straight otherwise. Any suggestions? Has anyone made a heavily reflexed bow like this one will be? I'm a novice so any opinions welcomed.
Thanks much, Tom

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: Opinions wanted on Stave...
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 09:26:57 am »
Yes, but I haven't made many elm bows. Reflexed bows show a very high early draw weight. They store energy for longer periods so don't misread the stave's potential and think it is too heavy early on. They can be a challenge to tiller. The back will be under a lot of stress so make sure it is glass smooth with no ring violations. Jawge
http://georgeandjoni.home.comcast.net/~georgeandjoni/
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 09:45:05 am »
Ditto on that. Be very careful on the back of the bow. Go slow with the tiller and exercise the limbs often.
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....WOW WHAT A RIDE!!

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 09:50:43 am »
Well I can tell you from Experience...You ain't going to get Texas Elm ...Glass Smooth....too many dips...waves...and stickers coming out of the Sap Wood to make it smooth without violating Rings

[attachment deleted by admin]
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY