Author Topic: Recurved Tips with steam -- MORE QUESTIONS!!! HELP!!  (Read 1444 times)

Offline Canoe

• Progress - Not Perfection
Recurved Tips with steam -- MORE QUESTIONS!!! HELP!!
« on: October 20, 2009, 12:17:39 pm »
Howdy Group,

Well, I just recurved the tip, (one end) of an White Ash selfbow. (It's my first time trying this).  I steamed the tip for about 40 minutes and then I quickly clamped the tip into a curved jig(?).  I set the bow under a couch in the carpeted basement.  It's not the dryest place in the house, but not bad eather.  (And, it won't get in anybodies way under there.)

So, my question is, about how long do I leave it clamped up?  I mean, when is it dry enough to un-clamp the bow tip and move on to the other end?

Thanks for your knowledgable advise,
Canoe 
« Last Edit: October 22, 2009, 10:39:08 am by Canoe »
"Nature is a mutable cloud which is always and never the same."  - R. W. Emerson

"Wilderness is not a luxury, but a necessity of the human spirit."    -Edward Abbey

Offline Jorad

Re: Recurved Tips with steam -- Qiestion.
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 12:33:35 pm »
24 hours should do the trick.
I usually steam for an hour and clamp for 24.

Good luck!
Jorad

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 01:28:20 pm »
A couple of hours is fine, but it mustn't be flexed untill it's had plenty of time to dry out, maybe as much as a week.
It's the heat which makes it flexible, so once it's cooled right though it's ok, however the moisture needs to dry out too.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

radius

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2009, 01:38:01 pm »
as soon as it is cool you can take it off the jig.

but yeah, wait a bit before stringing it, a few days anyhow

Offline Canoe

• Progress - Not Perfection
Re: Recurved Tips with steam -- MORE QUESTIONS!! HELP...
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2009, 11:07:11 am »
Howdy Group,

Thanks for the info - sounds great.