Author Topic: Sinew backed osage recurve- does this look right?  (Read 3062 times)

Offline sulphur

Sinew backed osage recurve- does this look right?
« on: October 24, 2009, 05:46:23 pm »
ok after i posted the ?? about tite bond 3 and sinew (man what a thread)  i decided on hide glue.  this is my 57" osage recurve after i applied the sinew.  What a mess!!  Does it help if you comb it out before and while your appling it??  i mean it looks ok and will probably work but i would like it to look a little neater.  this is two courses and i will add a course of fine shredded stuff tomorrow.  this stave has lots of reflex  i hope doesn't gain much more will curing.  what do you guys think?? this is my first time with sinew.

Offline Dano

Re: Sinew backed osage recurve- does this look right?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2009, 05:54:13 pm »
A guy can get pretty anal about laying down sinew, but just as long as you don't have any big gaps it should be fine. One more layer to fill gaps oughta do. You can see why most people will cover it with skins or something. It might gain a tad more reflex, it's good you didn't lay it with the bow in reflex. Now all you got to do it watch it dry for a month or so. ;D
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

Nevada

Offline sonny

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2009, 06:40:47 pm »
it generally looks like ____ when you first apply it but when it's dry it'll look a lot better.....

Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Offline wodpow

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 12:03:56 am »