Author Topic: Stoneware or porcelain nocks?  (Read 2399 times)

Offline KShip85

Stoneware or porcelain nocks?
« on: November 15, 2009, 05:09:22 pm »
Just wondering if anyone has ever tried making nocks for long bows out of stoneware or porcelain.  I'd think it would work and the designs you could sculpt would be very interesting.  Main reason I am wondering is because I have some background in ceramics and am looking for cheaper alternatives to horn for decorative nocks on long bows.  If no one has any idea I guess I'll just be forced to try it and see what happens!

Kip
Kip Shipley    Bloomington, IN

Offline Jmilbrandt

Re: Stoneware or porcelain nocks?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 05:31:55 pm »
I've never seen anyone do it before and I have wondered a few times too how it would work. Try it and let us know.
SW Utah

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 06:57:32 pm »
Might be a little brittle, but then again, it might work. There has been a little discussion on using things like this, but I don't know if it has ever been tried. Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Innocente

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2009, 10:34:32 pm »
if you decide to try it, don't just make 2, batch a bunch, cause i wanna preorder 2 from ya!

Offline KShip85

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2009, 12:53:57 am »
Yeah, I think I am going to have to at least go ahead and try it, worst thing that can happen is they do not work.  Now I just need to do some research to come up with some cool designs.  I'll see what all I can find.  Something with a hint of Lord of the Rings might be fun.

Kip

Offline KShip85

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2009, 01:12:01 am »