Author Topic: Wanting to find some knapped hunting points  (Read 1975 times)

americanhunter7

Wanting to find some knapped hunting points
« on: December 07, 2009, 04:55:18 pm »
I am new to primitive and am wanting to find someone who makes hunting (bird points) heads for my primitive arrows. I am still learning to knap and haven't really found my notch, so to speak. I would appreciate any help finding someone who can knap some points for my arrows, until such a time as I can do it for myself.
Thanks,
John

Offline Bill Skinner

Re: Wanting to find some knapped hunting points
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 09:19:33 pm »
Where are you?  If you can sit down with an experienced knapper, you should be able to make points from flakes after just a little practice, usually about 3-5 hours.  Bill 

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2009, 10:09:05 pm »
That's a fact. You can make your own out of glass, like bottle bottoms, plate glass, etc. They don't have to be beautiful, just pointy and functional :). Round ya up some basic tools and materials and like Bill said - sit in with somebody. Or you can start with a book, video, utubes. You'll be makin bird points in no time flat ;D.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2009, 12:09:17 am »
dude it really isnt as hard as it seems
it just takes the drive,desire and practice
hell 11 months back i didnt have a clue how to do it,today i can make stuff that pass as points and blades
some even look real good every once and awhile too
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline StevenT

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2009, 12:30:40 pm »
Since you are new to PA, another suggestion would be to trade for points. Go to the trade area and offer up a trade for some points. The people on here are always willing to swap stuff.