Author Topic: Thoughts on bannerstones and other objects with holes drilled through them.  (Read 2792 times)

Offline Ncsnipe

I was looking at some flint knapping videos on youtube and heard a guy talking about the mass of a hammerstone or bopper and how it relates to purcussion work. He said something along the lines of needing good mass to peel off flakes without having to take a big swing. I live in eastern N.C. and have not found any native rock with the qualaties that would make a good purcussion hammerstone. This got me to thinking as to the possability of bannerstones and such being used to increase the mass of antler batons for purcussion flaking. Just a thought. I'm new to this, so please don't laugh too hard, on the other hand maybe you should.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
I would doubt very seriously if that were the case. Antler billets don't really need added weight, if you don't have a lot of mass, you can make up for it with billet speed. I do a lot of knapping with small whitetail antler billets. Also, I think a lot of the aboriginal knapping of NC materials was done with hammerstones and wooden billets, both of which have plenty of mass. Plus, the shape and form of a bannerstone doesn't lend itself to attachment to an antler billet. I'm not even convinced that they were atlatl weights. If you can find a diabase dike (there are a lot of them in eastern NC), the diabase makes good hammerstones, as does sandstone.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline jamie

• born again pagan ,dirt worshipping heathen
The best evidence against this would be the size of the hole in the bannerstone. Too small to attatch to an antler. I think they were used as flywheels on dropspindles. 
"Man is a tool-using animal. Without tools he is nothing, with tools he is all."

waterbury, ct

Offline Bone pile

Jamie wrote