Author Topic: hickory backed cherry- why so fast!!?  (Read 5394 times)

Offline sulphur

hickory backed cherry- why so fast!!?
« on: January 20, 2010, 11:56:39 pm »
had an oppurtunity to see a bow i made a few years ago that was hickory backed cherry.  i was surprised by how fast it was.  the tiller was not particularly good in fact i would say it was whip ended.  its 1.5 " wide till the last 15" of the limb then tapering to .5 nocks.  I really am trying to understand why this bow was so fast, it was every bit as fast as a hickory backed osage bow that was 8# heavier and much better built (one of my more recent).   any ideas guys?  i tell you what though, its got me going to the lumber yard tomorrow to pick up some more cherry!

Offline KShip85

Re: hickory backed cherry- why so fast!!?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 12:07:53 am »
I'm no expert but I have heard cherry has one of the lowest hystersis values of many woods.  That could be a reason for good performance.
Kip Shipley    Bloomington, IN

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 04:56:08 am »
If you follow badgers mass theory its not so much the wood as it is the design that makes the bow efficient(fast).
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

coyote pup

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 10:54:18 am »
I'm thinking along the same lines as Dana. What kind of cross-section does the cherry have?

Offline adb

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2010, 12:33:47 pm »
If you can get cherry to hold together or not fret, it makes one of the fastest bows there is.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2010, 01:10:51 pm »
Low limb mass.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Badger

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2010, 01:30:42 pm »