Author Topic: Selfbow Handle  (Read 2575 times)

Offline Scrub_buck

Selfbow Handle
« on: February 04, 2010, 05:09:06 pm »
This is my first attempt at incorporating a shelf into a selfbow handle.  Its still a little rough, but it ought to be pretty when she is all sanded and sealed.

This piece of wood has a bend in the bottom limb that makes the string track left center of the handle.  I have not shot it but a few times, but I think its going to be close to centershot.  In fact, it may be a tad beyond centershot.  I have heat bended the limb twice and got it to where its at now.  If it shoots good, I am going to call it finished. 

The tiller on this one was tough, several knots, a twist and that crazy bent bottom limb.  I don't have pics now, but soon will get them and post.  60" NTN ... probaby mid-50's at 28"  I haven't shot her in yet, or rounded the limbs.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline tdog

Re: Selfbow Handle
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 07:27:27 pm »
Looks good Sandy!

Mark
It doesn't matter how or what you shoot, as long as you hit your target.

Mark(Wetumpka,AL)

Offline Scrub_buck

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 10:44:09 pm »
Thanks Mark:

I have shed some blood over this bow.  I was shaping the handle yesterday afternoon and my rasp slipped off and sunk the chisel tip into the web of my left thumb.  OUCH.  Five stitches later, I know what the name of this little bow is going to be thanks to my wife.  I think we are going to flip a coin over FIVE STITCH or O - POSITIVE.

It has a few knots, a twist and a bad curved bottom limb.  The tillering was very difficult, but I have it close none the less.  I was going to shoot it today some, but stitches in the web of my bow hand tells me I can't. 

Its a short little number 60 inches and all muscle.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 01:39:45 am »