Author Topic: Dipping Arrows  (Read 6907 times)

Offline Steve Cover

• Archery is for Everybody!!!
Dipping Arrows
« on: February 04, 2010, 09:21:06 pm »
I've been making wood arrows for over 40 years.

However, I've never tried to dye any of them.

I recently bought a dip tube with that explicitly in mind.  It came with a rubber membrane to fit under the cap.

Can anyone give me some advice as how to use it?

Thanks,

Steve
FOR THOSE WHO HAVE FOUGHT FOR IT
FREEDOM HAS A FLAVOR
THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: Dipping Arrows
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 09:28:18 pm »
 Never used one.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline stringstretcher

• Traditionalarcherycommunitysite.com
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 09:41:57 pm »
Steve.  Did the rubber membrane come with holes in it or at least one in the middle?  If so, that is used in conjunction with gasket lacquer.  You push the arrow down through the hole in the rubber, into the dip tube that is filled with gasket laquer and then pull it out.  If it has no holes in it, I have no idea.

Offline Steve Cover

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 10:17:23 pm »
Steve.  Did the rubber membrane come with holes in it or at least one in the middle?  If so, that is used in conjunction with gasket lacquer.  You push the arrow down through the hole in the rubber, into the dip tube that is filled with gasket laquer and then pull it out.  If it has no holes in it, I have no idea.
There is no hole in it.... Your explanation is what I suspected it was for.

How close to shaft size should I make the hole??

Thanks,

Steve
FREEDOM HAS A FLAVOR

Offline stringstretcher

• Traditionalarcherycommunitysite.com
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2010, 11:08:39 pm »