Author Topic: Bamboo, Ipe Hickory Build (Repair In Progress)  (Read 16429 times)

Offline Sanford

Bamboo, Ipe Hickory Build (Repair In Progress)
« on: July 22, 2010, 11:36:39 am »
Hey guys!

I am new to this community in particular, but have built a few bows in the past. Thought I would share my build I am currently working on.

OK so that makes it sound like, hey, yeah I just decided to starts building a bow and I'll show you the whole thing.

Wrong,

This seems to be a project that I have been putting off for almost two years. Way back when, I ordered the Bamboo, Ipe, and hickory, which was pre tapered (yeah I'm slightly lazy sometimes) from Jim at Rudder bows, who has always been helpful to me. Well so I glued that up last summer since I ordered them in the winter, and was waiting for warm weather so My URAC 185 would dry. My attic above the garage tuned out to be a great heat box...

hmm, you might be thinking, why not just build a heat box.....silly you! you forgot I'm lazy. But really I am a full time Mechanical Engineering Student who also works, rock climbs, mountain bikes, runs, and is captain of a SAE Mini Baja team, so I somehow found things to do besides finish the bow.

So basically I have no pictures of my glue up. All that I did was sand everything, slap some properly mixed per spec Urac on there, used some shrink wrap and reflexed the box in a form. Let it Dry, then glued on a riser, let that dry. Then i Decided, just to be safe, because as I always say, saftey third, I would let the bow glue really dry......and wait another year before I touched it again.

Which brings everyone up to date!

I'm shooting for a 67'' NTN (with the reflex) bow. With a wieght of about 55-60 lb at about 29'' of draw. Not to picky about the wieght, rather it be heavier.

So I finally cut out the limbs and roughed out the handle using a belt sander, band saw and tears of joy to wash away the saw dust. Which Brings me to the first pictures. (see below)