Author Topic: Bloodwood, Sycamore and other woods...  (Read 6288 times)

Offline Stingray45

Bloodwood, Sycamore and other woods...
« on: August 09, 2010, 03:56:24 pm »
Hey everyone. I'm new to PA but have been on here a lot today reading over some old threads.

I have a bow building question. I'm new to making selfbows and have recently gotten some wood from a local lumber yard. I got a piece of bloodwood with extremely straight grain that runs the distance of the board. I'm wondering if bloodwood would be alright use outright? or if I should back it with something? I have some hickory to use for backing. Also Im wondering if anyone has ever used bloodwood as a backing? I have a couple decent pieces of hackberry I am looking to use and planned to back one with hickory but I didnt know if Bloodwood could be a good backing.

Also what are your opinions of sycamore? I also picked up a nice piece of quarter sawn sycamore when I was at the lumber yard and wondering where that piece could be best used? Backing or core?
Is there anything better than wandering the earth with a stick and string in your hand?

Cacatch

Re: Bloodwood, Sycamore and other woods...
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2010, 05:22:47 pm »
Ask El Destructo about sycamore. He's made a lot from it and really likes it. Myself, if I have a striaght sycamore limb or sapling trunk, I'll make a bow from it. But anything I have to split I will pass on.

CP

Offline ken75

• crepe myrtle is my "yella wood"
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2010, 11:50:01 pm »
no clue on the blood wood but syc. is fine bow wood just tiller it right and keep it long enough it makes a good bow

Offline RyanY

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2010, 01:09:40 am »
Never made bows from either wood but here's my two cents. I've heard of hickory backed blood wood so I think that would be good. Not so sure about a bloodwood selfbow. I have nothing on sycamore.  ;D

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!