Author Topic: Zoysia grass  (Read 3803 times)

Offline jonathan creason

Zoysia grass
« on: September 02, 2010, 09:39:33 am »
Has anybody out there tried zoysia before in their yard?  I've been mulling this over for several years now, but $$$ has always been an issue.  I'm getting sick and tired of dealing with crabgrass, barnyard grass, and goose grass every year in my yard.  I'll get a decent stand of fescue and blue grass, then things turn hot and dry and they die back and the weeds flourish.  It chokes my mower, looks like crap, and is a general PITA. 

Anyway, do any of you have any advice on this grass, or maybe something else that can help my situation?
Cleveland, NC

"The only thing cooler than bands that gets lots of chicks are bands that scare chicks." - Beavis

Offline skyarrow

• Sterling Lynch Victoria, TX (361)935-1715 text me
Re: Zoysia grass
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 10:23:03 am »
there is a grass farm close by that sells it here and i have seen it in some of our costumer's yards and it looks like its a realy hardy grass   
"We don't have mistakes here, we just have happy accidents" Bob Ross RIP 1995

JustinNC

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 12:05:03 pm »
Call into Rock 92 and ask Kelly. He was thinking of putting it in.

Offline jonathan creason

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 12:15:52 pm »
Call into Rock 92 and ask Kelly. He was thinking of putting it in.

Don't you mean "having somebody put it in"? 

I really don't want to deal with the cost, but trying to control the weeds is nickel and diming me to death.
Cleveland, NC

"The only thing cooler than bands that gets lots of chicks are bands that scare chicks." - Beavis

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2010, 12:32:55 pm »
Pave the whole yard and paint it green. ;D Then you will never have to mow again.