Author Topic: Snake backing questions  (Read 5422 times)

Offline mspink

Snake backing questions
« on: October 20, 2010, 01:24:05 pm »
Hello.. I'm new to snake backing but am going to try it on a maple bow.. Was wondering how safe a snake backing was and what kind of commercial glue would work best.. Also some tips on application would be appreciated.. Thanks
Aim small miss small!

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: Snake backing questions
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 01:30:55 pm »
mspink: I've backed a bow a total of one time with snakeskins  :). I had already done some rawhide and wrapped them a little tight with ace bandaging strips, had a permanent spiral impression on the back of bow. Anyway: With the snakes I applied em with TB3, didn't use any wraps. Just smoothed and carresed them until they were stuck down good, let it dry and used a sanding block to work the loose edges off. Next time I'll be sanding the scales down between each coat of true oil for a smoother finish.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 01:38:58 pm »
I've only backed one bow with snakeskins too and I just followed Gordon's Hazelnut buildalong and tried to apply my skins the same way he did.  I used Titebond III to glue them down after I re-hydrated the skins in a little warm (not hot!) water first.  Then just did as Cowboy did and worked the skin down and pushed out all the air bubbles as the glue dried.   :)  Good luck, here's a link to the buildalong.

Gordons hazelnut D-bow build along TUTORIAL

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,4815.0.html
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline mspink

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2010, 04:22:52 pm »
Where can I find tb3? Is it available at stores like home depot.. If not what will they have that will work?