Author Topic: Pith problem?  (Read 3533 times)

Offline gstoneberg

Pith problem?
« on: October 23, 2010, 10:46:59 pm »
I have a most unusual (for me) problem.  I'm building an osage bow from billets which I spliced.  It was about a 4" diameter branch which I split in half to make the 2 billets.  I noticed there was some pith in the center of the bow when I cut the splice but I didn't think anything of it.   Now I'm starting to thin the limbs and the pith is right in the fade from the handle.  I think I can thin the limb in the working section until the pith is gone, but there's nothing I can do about the fade.  Any ideas on how to make it look better?

This is my first time making a bow from a small branch.  It is a mass of pin knots going ever direction.  Be awhile before I try another small diameter piece of osage.

Thanks,
George

St Paul, TX

Offline sonny

Re: Pith problem?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2010, 10:50:04 pm »
....looks like a bit of character to me.
I wouldn't worry about making it look "better"

Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2010, 10:56:03 pm »
Looks as though it's right there at the handle and "some" of it will dissapear as you tiller and work it down. I'm no expert but looks like you might or might not be OK with that. A catch 22, hmm..
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2010, 12:02:56 am »
 Back it. ;)
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2010, 05:27:13 am »
....looks like a bit of character to me.
I wouldn't worry about making it look "better"