Author Topic: longer more accurate?  (Read 7222 times)

Offline JW_Halverson

longer more accurate?
« on: November 12, 2010, 11:36:48 pm »
I've been shooting some sitka spruce target arrows for two years.  27" from botom of nock to base of firld point, 405 grains total weight.  Shooting these outa my 50# sinew backed osage flatbow was a bit of a "jarring" experience, but I really like the way they smoke right along. 

Yesterday I finished up some ash arrows, 31" from bottom of nock to base of field point, 625 grains.  Coming off the same bow, they are slower, but not exactly cold blooded.  I'm hitting about 3 inches lower than normal at 20 yds, but a little practice will compensate for that in no time at all. 

The big difference I noticed right off the bat is that I group significanltly tighter.  All things considered, I think I like these 12 1/2 grains per pound of draw arrows.  But why are they more accurate?
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: longer more accurate?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 12:42:36 am »
I shoot 29" arrows for my 26" draw. I think they get around the bow better and I like the extra weight too. Most of my hunting arrows are 600gr to 700gr for a 55# bow. Even when I shot cedars I likes a longer arrow(also 29"). Most of my arrows now are either sourwood shoots or hill cane arrows. I do have a set of fully tapered ash arrows that are also cut to 29" and weigh about 650gr that shoot very well out of the same (actually, most of my bows) bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 08:17:47 pm »
 I shoot 31,32" arrows. Shooting longer arrows is more forgiving. I know I can shoot my same arrows out of a 45# or 55# bow. Like Pat said, I think they straighten up quicker with more wood.
Lakeland, Florida