Author Topic: 1st try with a hazel nut stave  (Read 9223 times)

Offline snag

1st try with a hazel nut stave
« on: December 06, 2010, 08:38:52 pm »

As you can see in the first picture the stave has a little reflex in one limb and deflex in the other. Since this is my first try at a selfbow I wasn't sure what to do so I just made a bow with what the wood gave me. I guess I could steam the deflexed limb...? What do you think as far as where I am with this now?  Total rookie!

Is. 49:2 ....He made me a polished arrow and concealed me in His quiver.

Offline half eye

Re: 1st try with a hazel nut stave
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 08:50:46 pm »
Hey snag,
       It looks to my old eyes that the limbs are wanting to get symetrical (when bent a little) just the way they are. Think if ya keep an eye on their symetry as ya tiller it should work good, like it is. If they get kitty-wampus (technical term  :D) as ya go along you might want to heat correct at that time.....JMO
rich

Offline Little John

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 10:41:21 pm »
Looks like you could go either way with it, I think it would probably be fine as is but might be nicer if trued up a bit. I might get it to bending a little more and see what happens.     Kenneth
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 01:40:54 am »
The right limb looks 1/3 longer than the left limb.  ??? ...or it that my old eyes?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2010, 05:20:27 am »
Looks like you need to take a fair bit off the belly.
There's a few Hazel bows on my website (click the globe symbol under my username), it might give you some help.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Holten101