Author Topic: Oakwood Bow  (Read 8351 times)

Offline Arrowind

Oakwood Bow
« on: March 13, 2011, 04:13:32 pm »
This is my second bow...First successful bow.  It is made from...what else? A Red Oak board I bought from Lowes.  It's called Oakwood Bow two reasons.  One because of the wood it's made from and the other from it's owner.  The story is that it belonged to a human called Toren Oakwood who began learning to make bows from the elves and this is what he produced....Yes I'm kind of a fantasy / Medeaval / Lord of the Rings fan....  It measures in at 72" ttt backed with burlap.  36# @ 28" The top limb has my name written in Elvish runes and the bottom says "Oakwood bow".   I learned alot from this bow. I'm still learning from this bow.  When I made it back in December I didn't know what I didn't know and I didn't really know much at all.  You know?  When I finished I thought I had done a great job and was quite pleased with myself. It works! It actually works!  I was surprised at how exciting it was to shoot an arrow from a bow that I made.  Now when I pick it up I can see my mistakes so very clearly and that's a good thing.  It means I'm learning...As you will readily see the bottom limb is almost whip ended and has a fair amount of positive tiller.  I should have made it the top limb and taken more wood off near the fades.  I also tillered it to 33 inches my mistakenly measured draw length...so it pulls 36lbs to 28 and if I really pull past my ear almost... 40lbs at 33....I'm  sure I made many other mistakes but I like this bow.  And I like that I can see my mistakes because it means I am getting better at this... and now I know a little more of what I don't know....I hope you like it.  Any comments are appreciated.   
Talking trees. What do trees have to talk about, hmm... except the consistency of squirrel droppings?

Offline Arrowind

Re: Oakwood Bow
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 04:15:01 pm »
Some more pics