Author Topic: lookin for a truck. suggestions?  (Read 4880 times)

Offline recurve shooter

lookin for a truck. suggestions?
« on: May 30, 2011, 01:26:45 am »
hey guys. I graduated highschool a month or so ago and collage is comeing up soon. been driveing my pawpaw's truck for a year or to, but its time to buy my own ride. dont have much to spend so its gota be old and cheap, like 5 grand and under kinda cheap. i wanted an old toyota tacoma 4x4, but they seem to be kinda hard to find and a little expensive for being so old. also thought maby a ranger or s10 4x4, maby a dodge dakota if they make thim in 4 wheel drive, heck even an old isuzu trooper, i think they come in 4 wheel. i guess you can see basicly what i want, small and 4x4, so i can get decent milage and still get where i need to get (ok fine probably just cuz mud is fun). is what have you guys owned in the past, what would you expect to pay for such things these days, and what do yall recomend or advise against? thanks guys!!
lets just shoot it

Offline Stretch

• I'm a custom furniture maker/wannabe bowyer.
Re: lookin for a truck. suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 02:09:48 am »
I'm a Jeep Cherokee guy myself.  Mine gets 20-22 mpg and is a blast to drive, on road or off.  They're easy to work on, parts are cheap and readily available, and there's tons of aftermarket support if you want to make modifications.  The Jeep 4.0 liter straight six is an excellent engine.  Many people get 300,000 miles out of em.  Mine has 170,000 miles on it and runs like a top.  For what you have to spend you should be able to find one in very good condition and still have money to fix it up. 
Mark
Lindale, TX

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 08:19:30 am »