Author Topic: Willow For Arrows?  (Read 3187 times)

Offline woodsman

Willow For Arrows?
« on: June 04, 2011, 09:12:14 pm »
What are your opinions on willow as an arrow material? I have a lot of it in the woods behind my house and I'm wondering if it would make a decent arrow. I'm not sure what type of willow it is. I know It's not weeping willow, but other than that, I'm not sure. It looks good, so I though I'd ask. I live in Central NY, if that helps identify the type of willow it might be. I'm new to arrow making and any opinions would be appreciated.

Offline woodsman

Re: Willow For Arrows?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2011, 10:11:32 pm »
I just realised that somebody asked basically the same question a couple pages back. Don't know how I missed it. Thanks.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2011, 10:55:47 pm »
Some of the Native Americans in the Southwest made willor arrows, i believe. I have cut willow shoots but never made arrows from it.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline woodsman

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2011, 01:04:06 am »
Thanks Pat. Like I said, I'm new to arrow making, but that willow looks awful good to me. I better cut some and
give it a try. Thanks again.

Offline sailordad

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 11:56:54 am »
i have found that they need to be quit a bit thicker than other shaft materials
as they are lighter in weight,and i also find them hard to keep straight as it is a softer wood also

i like them for stumping,that way if i loose one im not a out a great shaft
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline woodsman

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2011, 12:23:45 pm »
Thanks for the info sailordad, much appreciated. I went out this morning and cut a dozen willow shoots. On my way back home, I ran across some dogwood, so I cut some of that too. They're all bundled up to dry.

Offline Pat B