Author Topic: String noise off fingers - SOLVED!!!  (Read 3308 times)

Offline stevecpa66

String noise off fingers - SOLVED!!!
« on: September 11, 2011, 12:18:18 am »
I'm a genuine newbie at traditional archery as I haven't loosed and arrow at an animal yet but I seem to have created a problem.

I'm shooting a longbow (57# at 29") and I was getting quite a bit of wrist slap from the string. I increased my brace height to about 6.5" and it has taken care of the writs slap, however, now my string is making noise coming off my fingers. This noise wasn't there at the lower brace height.

I'm shooting one over/two under with a tab but I did try bare fingers and still had the noise. The string is hitting my middle finger just outside of my first knuckle and the fleshy pad of my pointer and ring finger, so I do not think I'm getting the string too far down my fingers.

Is there anything to fix this or do I have to make a choice between the noise or the wrist slap?

My effective hunting range right now is less than 15 yards, so will the string noise not be as big an issue?

My arrows are cane with self nocks and are spined heavy. Not sure on the exact spine as they shoot great so I have never bothered to spine them. I would guess they would spine at 60-65#.

Any insight would be great.

EDIT: I should add that I am using beaver fur string silencers, but again the noise started only after increasing the brace height.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2011, 11:45:10 pm by stevecpa66 »

Offline PeteC

Re: String noise off fingers
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 10:10:14 am »
Steve,have you tried another tab,or a shooting glove? I use the 3 layer tabs that 3 Rivers Archery sells,and they are very quiet.It is the calfskin model and inexpensive. JMHO God Bless
What you believe determines how you behave., Pete Clayton, Whitehouse ,Texas

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2011, 11:44:22 am »