Author Topic: Osage Holmegård (fulldraw p.2)  (Read 21854 times)

Offline Kviljo

• Archaeologist, Antitheist
Re: Osage Holmegård
« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2007, 11:12:10 am »
I know there has been some confusion about the way some stone age bows were drawn. I haven't found solid evidence of either, but my own feeling is that they too must have seen the huge strength and security in having a single growthring on the back of an elm bow.

But if there is some arguments for backward bows, I'm really really interested in hearing about it.

It would be super if you found the magazine, but dont spend too much time looking :)

I wouldn't call it a Holmegård replica - it's way too yellow for that, and of course I haven't used measurements from an original artefact, but I assume the Ertebølle-people would recognize it as a "normal bow", hehe ;)
« Last Edit: July 13, 2007, 11:18:55 am by kviljo »

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: Osage Holmegård (fulldraw p.2)
« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2007, 11:22:04 am »
Glad to see that osage as premium as this one is was made into a bow by a bowyer with real skills that you obviously have. Got you bookmarked for July Self Bow of the Month, too.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

DCM

« Reply #32 on: July 13, 2007, 07:27:09 pm »
Kviljo,

I looked and did not find the PA issue w/ the Holmegaard article.  I may have giving it away, as I found issues back to 2001, but I know I subscribed before that.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #33 on: July 13, 2007, 07:48:45 pm »
David, Was that the article by Hillary Green(something). The only female in the MRT.    Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

DCM

« Reply #34 on: July 13, 2007, 08:25:48 pm »