Author Topic: "Twisted Sister's" stumble along....I mean build along  (Read 15859 times)

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
"Twisted Sister's" stumble along....I mean build along
« on: December 08, 2011, 08:23:46 pm »
62 1/2" ttt osage - no backing or overlays
1 1/8 wide
3/8 tips
47@ 27"

I grabbed the ugliest billet I could find last summer and split sister's out of it. My goal was simple. Try to make a bow that would basically involve ALMOST every common challenge a bow building person (Im not a bowyer) can stumble upon. I wanted checks, twists, undulations, horrible tip alignment and of course snakes. I got what I wanted and more. I am going to attempt a stumble along. Its my first attempt doing so, and of course our trusty 1/2 mega pixel camera in tow. Please bare with me as I get these posts together and sorted out. Thanks for looking and feel free to ask any questins I know answers to! ;)

Below are pictures of the billets after roughing them out and getting the splice cut in. I used all hand tools on this bow except the splice cut. The splice is a simple "v" splice 4" deep. That gave me 16" of glue surface in the joint. Good enough for me. I had to warm up the splice and get my fit closer to where I wanted it. My heat gun did the trick nicely.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 10:46:53 am by PEARL DRUMS »
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: "Twisted Sister's" stumble along....I mean build along
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2011, 08:37:36 pm »