Author Topic: When did you start?  (Read 4683 times)

Offline bushman

When did you start?
« on: December 10, 2011, 01:49:28 am »
How long have you been knapping and what was the first thing you ever made? Also if you got a picture of it please post it.
Me, I have been knapping since I was old enough to hit or grind 2 rocks together, so lets see about 18 years giver or take a few. First things I ever made were just sharp flakes to cut stuff when I was out in the bush behind my parent’s farm, after I used them I would throw them away. First thing I ever kept was a ground slate hawk I made when I was about 6. I will take a picture of it and post it when I get a chance.
Bushman

Offline warhawk

Re: When did you start?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 10:46:20 am »
I started when in 2008 my wife introduced me to the Flintknappingtools website and told me to order a starter kit. I have been collecting artifacts since 1996 in Texas and i really have ever looked back.
In working in stone i find my past, in giving of the blood i pay for the future.

Offline YosemiteBen

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2011, 05:13:02 pm »
I guess I began my learning process about 18 years ago. When I got a seasonal job I had better access to some teachers (One guy was a rabbit sticker) and did a little more.  When my wife got sick and couldn't work I backfilled her position and began to have more time in the Indian Museum and have been knapping several times a week as the work schedule allows. I am still perplexed with thinning. Basic tool - four hammerstones, two smaller antler billets, one antler chipper, one home made copper flaker, two commercial flakers one has a wooden handle(Obsidiandesigns.com, Dr Susan Gleason) and one poly resin handle. Still got lots of learning left to do and hope to glean some useful knowledge from all of the folks here!

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2011, 05:22:50 pm »